D2 and D3

rice1817

I am new to this forum, and if it is OK would like to share my thoughts on the caste system, and why it may work out better for the white kids in the long run.

I am a football coach, and have been around the game for a long time. One thing that coaches have in common is that they want to win. I really believe that if a coach thought he could win by stocking his team with 5 foot tall Chinese players, then the rosters would be full of guys named Ming and Woo. So I am not sure that it is a concerted effort by the major colleges to lock out the white player. I think it has more to do with a reluctance to waste a scholarship on a kid who may actually put more emphasis on his studies than a black athlete will, maybe even to the point of quitting the team. I believe that many Acadademic All Americans started their careers as walkons for this very reason.

A lot of people seem to think that if a white player does not get the D1 scholarship, then he is relegated to obscurity at the lower levels of college football, and that a great future has been forfeit.

In my view, things will generally work out much better for these young men than it would have had they gone to a "big time" program.

The lower level schools run programs that allow a player to actually get a meaningful, marketable education as opposed to taking the "jock" courses so in evidence among D1 programs for their athletes. I knew a very talented HS player whose dream it was to play for the Texas A&M Aggies. All went very well on his recruiting visit, until the time came to sit down with the coach, I believe Emory Bellard at the time. He asked my friend "what would you like to study?" "Civil Engineering" was the reply. Bellard said "pick one from this list" and my friend saw things like "parks and recreation" and other such time wasters. "Why can't I study engineering?" "Because our time demands on our players will not permit it" was the answer.