Cutting phase

whiteathlete33

Hall of Famer
Ive been weightlifting for 6 months right now. I have made huge gains in strength and muscle size. However I do have some excess fat. I need to go on a cutting phase. How long should it last? Will I burn my muscles away? What exactly should I be eating? Any help would be appreciated.

Sean

Mentor
Hey whiteathlete, good to hear about your progress. I'm sure since this replyt is pretty late that you've already made some good progress in your cutting phase. If you still need any help though, there are a few things to remember.

Don't switch from lifting to running like a lot of people, because you will burn off all your muscle. Keep lifting. There are many types of cardio, fast, slow, HIT, HIIT, etc.

Food is the main thing. Try and lessen the carbs you take in. DO NOT eliminate them as some people say. Fibrous vegetables and greens can be eaten at any point, but try to take the majority of your carbs for breakfast, and post workout.

The best advice would be to go to www.bodybuilding.com There is a wealth of info there, great articles etc. Just search for what your interested in and it will probably bring up a lot of cool info.

Let me know how your progress is going. I'm working on my Exercise Science major, as well as being a big time lifting fanatic, so this is my field of interest
smiley32.gif

Good luck.

Observer

Mentor
Run an all-out sprint for 300-400 meters before eating in the morning. Rest for 15 seconds and run back with whatever energies that remain. 3 minutes and your done for the day. Not sure why, but this seems to trim excess fat without wasting away the muscle. But the sprint (or other full-body activity) has to be at maximal effort.

Maybe finish it up by grabbing on to the back of a car and trying your best to lift it for 30 seconds.