Kurt Warner's Historical Chance

Discussion in 'Arizona Cardinals' started by sport historian, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. sport historian

    sport historian Master

    Dec 18, 2004
    If Arizona wins the Super Bowl, Kurt Warner will be the first QB to take different teams to a Super Bowl victory. Craig Morton was the QB for two Super bowl teams (Dallas in 1970 and Denver 1977. Both times he lost. Earl Morrall started Super Bowl III for the Colts (Unitas was injured that year) and most of the 1972 season for Miami. Bob Griese had been hurt that year and replaced Morrall during the AFC title game with Pittsburgh and started Super Bowl VII.

    In the pre-Super bowl era, Norm Van Brocklin was the only QB to win a championship with two teams (1951 Rams and 1960 Eagles). In 1951, Van Brocklin alternated with Bob Waterfield but threw the winning TD pass in the championship game. The 1960 Philadelphia Eagles were thought to be the weakest team to win an NFL title. They won because they had Norm Van Brocklin at QB. They beat the Packers 17-13 in the title game, the only time Lombardi's Packers lost a championship or playoff game. I saw this game on TV.

    If Kurt Warner takes the 9-7 Cardinals to a victory over the Steelers, it will be similar to Van Brocklin's achievement in 1960. An added feature is that Warner was unheralded coming to the Rams and has been written off several times.

Share This Page